Dinner With The Omnivore

Immortalised in a biscuit

Posted on: June 10, 2010

Granny. Maker of biscuits and teller-off of barefoot children

When my Granny died a few years ago she managed to do so at what for me was an extremely inconvenient moment. No need to change the habits of a lifetime just to hop off your twig, I suppose. At the time I was working as a campsite courier and engaged in end of season démontage in the south of France, which meant that I was living in tents, doing grubby physical work and really not in possession of a funeral-friendly wardrobe. I was also bloody miles from any convenient airport, and severely lacking in internet access, which made travel arrangements problematic, to say the least.

I eventually made it from Beziers to Sheffield via Toulouse and Manchester, arriving at some silly small hour of the morning and kipping on the sofa because all the rest of the family had got there at a sensible time and obviously nabbed all the beds. I also forgot that the Aga in the kitchen used to heat the water to somewhere in excess of boiling point, meaning that it was an act of suicidal madness to attempt a shower before everyone else had got up and run some of it off.

Having narrowly avoided serious full-body scalding, I retired to the lawn to drink tea and luxuriate in the feeling of cool ankle-deep moss around my bare feet. I used to get told off as a child for standing out there on the wet grass without any feet on, but I never bothered to explain to anyone why I was doing it (let’s face it, there’s no explaining these perfectly obvious things to adults). That day was the last time I’d ever be able to stand there with my feet in the moss.

So I went to my Granny’s funeral in jeans and a black T-shirt, since that was the most presentable outfit I had with me,  and possibly with slightly damp feet.

It didn’t occur to me until far too late that I should have asked for a keepsake or two from the house. I would have kept the world map which hung in the downstairs toilet for years, and which fascinated me with all its tiny exotic countries unmarked on other, much more boring maps. (I got told off for spending too much time in the downstairs loo as well, and I never explained about that either.) Following the collapse of Communism the map was probably pretty much up to the minute again.

So the only mementos I have are the gold signet ring which Grandpa gave her when my mother was born and this recipe for biscuits. Innumerable Granny Biscuits have been scoffed down the years by various children and grandchildren, and I can say that a fair few were pinched from the larder as well, though obviously I would have no first hand knowledge of any such thing.

Granny Biscuits

You will need: 1 tblsp Golden Syrup; 4oz butter; 4oz sugar; 3oz rolled oats; 2oz dried coconut; 4oz plain flour; 1 level tsp bicarb dissolved in 1 tblsp hot water

Melt the butter, sugar and syrup together, remove from heat and then add all the dry ingredients and the bicarb solution. Put teaspoonsful of the mixture on a baking tray, leaving space for the biscuits to spread out, and bake at 160°C for 10 minutes.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 Responses to "Immortalised in a biscuit"

Anzac cookies we call these here in NZ!

How funny ..

Really? I wonder where my Granny got the recipe from.

Where in the world was she based?
http://www.anzac.govt.nz/significance/traditions.html
For info and the recipe (it has many variants)

I imagine most recipes are the same, we just amend the names as we shift countries?

Fascinating! My grandparents lived in Yorkshire, but they travelled a lot and had friends all over the place, so the recipe might easily have come from a New Zealander.

The recipe sounds easy! I love to try this interesting buscuit!

Its’ a lovely cookie, no doubt about that .. I imagine it’s probably all around the world now – am sure it would have been shared when our men were in the trenches with other soldiers! I can just see them at reunions talking about things that helped from “back home”.. (wives beside them with their cups of tea etc) 😉

Leave a Reply

Food for thought

“Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what’s for lunch.” ― Orson Welles

Food by e-mail - takeaway for the modern age.

Join 182 other followers

Share

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 33,964 hits

Stuff you liked

Stuff you looked at

  • None
© Christa GIMBLETT 2010-2011
